to our 2020

Innovation Award Recipients!

ORC HSE 2020 Innovation Award Recipient

We are honored to announce Southern California Edison as the recipient of our 2020 Innovation award for their nomination titled “Safety Cultural Change through Predictive Analytics”.

Southern California Edison created a Safety Predictive Model using artificial intelligence and predictive analytics to flag higher than average work risk activities that may lead to a life-threatening or life-altering incident causing injury or death. The model uses work order data, structure characteristics, injury records, experience, and training. As the model continues to learn the new work orders being processed into the system, it will recommend specific approaches to reduce the risk of a job.

ORC HSE 2020 Innovation Award Runners-Up

We are equally proud to announce the 2020 Innovation Award runners-up; Amazon and Lockheed Martin. Both recipients were selected for the excellent work they did in response to COVID-19.

Distance Assistant

Amazon applied artificial intelligence and machine learning to the camera footage in their buildings to help site leaders identify high traffic areas and implement additional measures to improve social distancing. They later built on this technology to promote social distancing behavior in real-time.

Safety Moments-COVID-19 Video Series

The Safety Moments video series delivers employee conversational stories through entertaining educational videos driving safety and health awareness on infection control measures and available resources to reinforce appropriate employee actions during the pandemic, foster employee engagement, and correct COVID-19 misinformation and myths.

ORC HSE is committed to supporting and promoting the creative health, safety, and environmental initiatives implemented by our member companies.

For this reason, we have initiated an ORC HSE Innovation Award recognizing fresh, effective approaches and programs designed to protect employee health, safety, and/or the environment.

The award recipients were selected based on a blind review that included an evaluation of the significance of the innovation, its potential for deployment across industries, and its overall sustainability and contribution to the field of occupational safety and health.